The ABC Book Challenge – B!

B– I’ve seen this challenge floating around for a little while now and thought why not give it a go myself! This feel like a great way of cataloguing some of the truly memorable books that I’ve read over the years in one place.

I’m back again with the next letter in the alphabet to show off some of my most memorable ‘B’ reads and some that are still on my TBR. You can check out which books I picked for ‘A’, here.


Rules: Pick 5 memorable reads starting with the selected letter and another 5 that are currently on my TBR.

5 Memorable ‘B’ Books:

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

This book goes down as one of my all time favourite books. I’ll recommend it to absolutely anyone who’ll listen and I’d say it’s a must read for anyone who enjoys folklore/mythology retellings, suuuuper slow burn romances and badass heroines!

Boy Meets Girl by Meg Cabot

This was one of the first romances I ever read and it’s more than earned it’s place on my forever shelves. It’s a total comfort read for me and my copy is particularly well loved.

Before the Coffee Gets Cold by Toshikazu Kowaguchi

I’d had this book on my shelves for the longest time and can’t believe I put off reading it for so long. This was my first venture into magic realism and is one that I’d happily recommend to anyone wanting to try the genre.

Bad Habits by Flynn Meaney

A YA masterpiece! A friends first, sex positive, feminist look at school (and everything that comes along with it) that I adored from the very first page.

Bone Lines by Stephanie Bretherton

This was one of the first books I was sent as an official blogger/reviewer so it’ll always hold a special place for me. Add to that that this book combines history, mystery and an anthropologist and I was sold!

5 ‘B’ Books on my TBR:

Blood and Honey by Shelby Mahurin

Blurb: Lou, Reid, Coco, and Ansel are on the run from coven, kingdom, and church-fugitives with nowhere to hide. To survive, they need allies. Strong ones. But as Lou becomes increasingly desperate to save those she loves, she turns to a darker side of magic that may cost Reid the one thing he can’t bear to lose. Bound to her always, his vows were clear: where Lou goes, he will go; and where she stays, he will stay. Until death do they part.

The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed

Blurb: Los Angeles, 1992. Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It’s the end of high school and they’re spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer. But everything changes one afternoon in April, when four police officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley’s not just one of the girls. She’s one of the black kids. As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family facade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumour that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson.

Blood Moon by Lucy Cuthew

Blurb: During Frankie’s first sexual experience with lovely Benjamin, she gets her period. It’s only blood, they agree. No shame.  Then a graphic meme goes viral, turning their fun, intimate afternoon into something mortifying and damaging. And Frankie begins to wonder: is she disgusting? As the online shaming takes on a horrifying life of its own, her universe implodes. But can laughter, bravery and the fiercest of friends help Frankie find her way out of the darkness?

The Bone Garden by Heather Kassner

Blurb: Made of dust and bone and imagination, Irreelle fears she’s not quite real. Only the finest magical thread tethers her to life-and to Miss Vesper. But for all her efforts to please her cruel creator, the thread is unravelling. Irreelle is forgetful as she gathers bone dust. She is slow returning from the dark passages beneath the cemetery. Worst of all, she is unmindful of her crooked bones. When Irreelle makes one final, unforgivable mistake by destroying a frightful creature just brought to life, Miss Vesper threatens to imagine her away once and for all. Defying her creator for the very first time, Irreelle flees to the underside of the graveyard and embarks on an adventure to unearth the mysterious magic that breathes bones to life, even if it means she will return to dust and be no more.

Bridge of Clay by Markus Zusak

Blurb: A boy caught in the current, a boy intent on destroying everything he has in order to become everything he needs to be. This is a young life in search of greatness, seeking the ultimate cure for his memory and tragedy. Ahead of him lies the bridge, the vision that will save both his family and himself. It’s his attempt to transcend humanness, to make a single, glorious moment. It will be a miracle and nothing less.


Are any of your favourites on this list? Which books would you pick for this letter? I’d love to know! 😌

You can always find me over on Twitter for a book chat! I’m always looking for new recommendations! 

Screen Shot 2019-08-14 at 15.34.52

3 thoughts on “The ABC Book Challenge – B!

Leave a comment