Review: News Hounds: The Puppy Problem by Laura James

I was sent a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Blurb: Gizmo is a city dog, so when he moves to the village of Puddle with his journalist human he doesn’t know WHAT to expect. Certainly not FLOWERS. Or BEES. And he couldn’t have even imagined MUD. Luckily he’s got Jilly, the wolfhound next door, to show him around. But Jilly has a problem. Her puppies are going to be given to new owners far away. She’ll never see them again! Gizmo might not know the difference between a cow and a tractor but he’s got a nose for a story, and a great idea to help Jilly. What if the dogs of Puddle had a newspaper? STOP PRESS!

Title: News Hounds: The Puppy Problem

Author: Laura James

Illustrator: Charlie Alder

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Genre: Fiction, 5-8, Animal Stories

Review:

When Gizmo moves to a new town, he’s not quite sure what to make of it. Luckily it’s not long before he meets Jilly, the wolfhound next door, and they become fast friends. But Jilly has a puppy problem and Gizmo might be the perfect pup to help!

The moment I picked up this book I was sold. I’m a big dog lover and a story about a band of pups coming together to create their own newspaper had me delighted! The story is fun, even when dealing with perhaps more serious matters, and written in a way that’s easy for young readers to follow and get excited about. James is a stand out for me when it comes to recommending dog books in this age group as they’re always something original that I’ve never come across before. There’s truly nothing to dislike about this book and, despite receiving a free copy, I’d be more than happy to purchase this book for a little reader in my life.

I couldn’t review this book without praising the illustrations! They’re featured throughout the story and really bring these adorable dogs to life. From jaunty hats to little polka dot neck kerchiefs, Adler gives different personalities to this group of dogs and only adds to the enjoyment of this story.

Overall, I’d definitely recommend this book to any dog loving little bookworms! It’s fun, filled with adorable illustrations and shows off the importance of learning to read – what more could you want?!

Rating: 5/5

Recommend?: Yes


Have you read this book? Or maybe you’ve read something similar? What did you think? I’d love to know!

You can always find me over on Twitter if you’d like to discuss this book (or any others that I’ve featured) in more detail 😌

Screen Shot 2019-08-14 at 15.34.52

Leave a comment