My Favourite End Papers!

If there’s anything I love more than pretty covers and sprayed edges, it’s gorgeous end papers. Whenever I come across a new hardback or an exclusive edition, I’ll always take a peak inside to see the end papers. They’re often an overlooked aspect of a book’s design but one I feel is extra special as it’s a detail that’s reserved for the reader’s eyes only.

I took a look through my bookshelves to pick out five of my current favourite end papers and I’m sure you can see why I adore them so much!


The Familiars by Stacey Halls

I’m a huge fan of the cover of this book so I was delighted when the end paper were just as gorgeous. I love how well they both match and the little fox hiding amongst the leaves is by far my favourite aspect!

The Foundling by Stacey Halls

This one really reminds me of wallpaper (which works brilliantly as one of the characters is a young widow who doesn’t leave her house) and the cage design is continued from the front cover. These end papers give me the same vibes as stepping into the first, often grand, room of a haunted house, right before things get spooky…

The Deathless Girls by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

I will forever be an absolute sucker for this colour scheme and could happily stare at these end paper all day. The gothic aspects of twisting vines, tall towers and toadstools are lightened here as we are given the chance to read the classic tale of Dracula from an all female perspective.

The Mercies by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

This design has always reminded me of the vibrant paintings you often find on canal boats here in the UK which connects well with the watery disaster that sparks off this story. The bold colours have an unmistakable feminine feel which perfectly sets the tone for a story of truly independent women.

Ariadne by Jennifer Saint

Gold shimmer. That’s really all I have to say about this one. It’s flashy and gorgeous and has all the details of ancient art that I adore!


Are you a fan of fancy end papers? Do you have a favourite design? I’d love to know!

You can always find me over on Twitter if you’d like to discuss this post (or any others that I’ve featured) in more detail 😌

One thought on “My Favourite End Papers!

Leave a comment