Review: Dragon Mountain by Katie and Kevin Tsang

Blurb: When twelve-year-old Billy Chan’s parents send him to a summer camp in the mountains of China, he doesn’t know what to expect. He’d much rather be spending the holidays back home than hanging out with total strangers at Camp Dragon.

That’s until he and his fellow campmates stumble upon the entrance to a secret mountain, and find four real-life warrior dragons trapped inside! The dragons are fearsome, clever and dangerous…

And they’ve been waiting for him.

Title: Dragon Mountain

Author: Katie and Kevin Tsang

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Genre: Fiction, Middle Grade, Fantasy, Adventure

Review:

When Billy goes off to Dragon Camp for the summer, the last thing he expects is to find four real life dragons hidden in the mountain! And unbeknownst to Billy and his new friends, they’re the only ones who can help defeat the Dragon of Death and save both the Dragon Realm and the human world too!

This book was such a fun read, with mythical lands and magic pearls that give the wearer powers (not to mention the dragons!) we really get to go on an epic adventure. The premise of this book sounded like such fun and it definitely delivered. The characters were all individuals and were well written, especially in regards to the main four. Billy, Dylan, Charlotte and Ling-Fei are all wonderfully different children with different strengths and backgrounds which I really appreciated. I love the idea that lots of children will be able to identify with at least one of the kids! The dragons were also really different which only added to how fun the story was. The descriptions were rich and really helped to transport you to the Dragon Realm where islands float and peaches grow on trees 😍

Another thing I loved about this book was the cliffhanger ending! I won’t give anything away here but I’m definitely waiting for the next book in this series to come out in March to find out what happens to our little band of heroes next!

As for what I disliked, there wasn’t much other than the story being fairly simple. However, as this book is aimed at readers aged 9-12, I don’t think that this would be a problem for others. There’s not much conflict in the sense of things stopping the kids from completing their mission and I would have liked to see a bit more of that, something to make things a bit more tense!

Overall, I’d definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes fantastical adventures, jam packed with magic and flying dragons! Perfect for fans of The Land of Roar and The Last Airbender.

Rating: 3.5/5

Recommend?: Yes


Have you read this book? Or maybe you’ve read something similar? What did you think? I’d love to know!

You can always find me over on Twitter if you’d like to discuss this book (or any others that I’ve featured) in more detail 😌

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s