Review: I Feel Bad About my Neck by Nora Ephron

I was sent a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.


Blurb: 
– Never marry a man you wouldn’t want to be divorced from.
– If the shoe doesn’t fit in the shoe store, it’s never going to fit.
– When your children are teenagers, it’s important to have a dog so that someone in the house is happy to see you.
– Anything you think is wrong with your body at the age of thirty-five you will be nostalgic for by the age of forty-five.

Title: I Feel Bad About my Neck

Author: Nora Ephron

Publisher: Weidenfeld and Nicolson, an imprint of Orion, owned by Hachette UK

Genre: Non-Fiction, Biography, Humour, Essays

Review:

This was my first taste of any of Nora Ephron’s writing, aside from her movies, and I couldn’t put it down! It’s packed full of touching and witty advice, some of which I felt like I needed and other pieces that I feel will serve me well in the future.

Nora is the epitome of the cool older relative that you always wanted to be. The advice that she gives is the kind that makes you wonder why you never thought of it before. Simply from this book alone it feels as though she has been through everything from divorce to grief and has a sage, often witty, word for it all. There’s sure to be something in here that you can relate to at any age.

The chapter entitled What I Wish I’d Known is a handy list of things to keep in mind. Ranging from “the plane is not going to crash” to “you can order more than one desert” is Ephron’s way of giving us the key to enjoying life earlier than she figured it out. Reading this book at 22 meant that some of it, particularly the bits about divorce and your children leaving the nest, weren’t applicable to my life right now, but I really resonated with the section on grief and took comfort from the idea that if I can reach my older years with the same wit and joy, I think I’ll be ok. The final chapter, entitled Considering the Alternative provided a touching message to live every day as though it’s your last and enjoy the time that you do have as life is short – a message that really hit home for me this past year. This advice really struck a chord with me, and I’m sure it will with many others, as a reminder to lead full lives, no matter what we choose to fill it with.

There wasn’t anything that I disliked about this book other than the fact that it was so short! It was a wonderfully quick read that I’m sure I will refer back to at many opportunities but I would have loved more content. Oh well, I’ll just have to seek out the rest of Ephron’s work and satisfy myself that way 😂

Overall, I would 100% recommend this book to any woman (or man!), old or young, as a bible of some wonderful life advice that doesn’t beat around the bush. Perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton who haven’t dived into the world of Nora Ephron yet!

Rating: 4/5

Recommend?: Yes!


Have you read this book? What did you think? Is there something similar that you’ve read? I’d love to know!

You can always find me over on Instagram and Twitter if you’d like to discuss this book (or any others that I’ve featured) in more detail 😌